Pop Quiz! What would you do?

Choose wisely

POP QUIZ!!

It’s not quite 7am, you’re getting ready for work and you get this this text, what do you do?

My answer is below.

A little context and assistance with your answer. If you didn’t know, I’m a recruiter, I work closely with Automotive groups searching for new Fixed Ops team members. And that text, that’s from a Director of Fixed Ops. Ugh!

What do you do?

  1. This is only private alone time I get. I’m very protective of it. I could ignore it. It’s not during business hours.

  2. I respect this person and know this COULD be important. However, I have some personal things I’d like to do this morning. I could text back and let him know I’ll be available at 8.

  3. He would not text me unless it was important. It may kick aside what I wanted to get done. I could suck it up and say yes.

I love the group of people I work with. Recruiting is not a 9-5 gig. If you think that’s all we do, you would be incorrect.

I also respect everyone I work with. I respect their time, their positions and what they do. In fact, I feel they work much harder than me.

Being successful at work is not doing only what you’re tasked to do, it’s about doing the things that need to be done whether it’s in your wheelhouse or not the right time.

What you really need to do sometimes is set your personal stuff aside and take that call. (Yes, I know sometimes you just can’t, been there.)

So, right now as I write this, I’m in a luxury private bus headed to Washington DC to see the Nats play the Rockies. (Oh, I’m a Pirates fan).

Of course I said yes!

The moral to the story, you never know what is on the other end of that text. Let your mind soak that in.

Let it wander on the other potential outcomes. Good, bad & devistating.

If you can take that text, take it. You may not get another.

Thanks for reading and if you like what I’ve been saying, please share it. I’d appreciate it!

Bill, The Boring Old Guy