The human desire for change

We have the bug

Ever get that urge to fly away?

Before I get into this, if you like these, please share. I appreciate everyone who has subscribed so far and there are big things to come. You can always email me at [email protected] with comments, feedback or anything else.

Sometimes, the fight or flight reflex happens daily. Most of the time, we’re content and happy where we are. What brings this up, you ask?

We saw a news article about Ireland paying people up to $100k to move there. We’ve always toyed with the idea of making a move like that. Could this be our time?

The basic scheme (I still think it’s funny they call plans in the UK, “schemes”),has people moving into existing abandoned homes and paying them to renovate, live & work on one of the many islands around Ireland. The homes must have been empty for 2 years & built prior to 2007. Not too bad.

People have been leaving the islands and they are struggling to find ways for people to stay.

We have the basic skills to fix a home. The question is, can we and do we really want to?

So peaceful

Exploratory Committee

I think we should at least investigate the opportunity to make a move like this. What would it take to uproot and make a move half a world away? What would we give up and what would we gain?

I sent Kelly a text this morning asking her seriousness about this on a scale from 1-10. She said 7-8. I’m good with that. I told her to write down all the things she felt needed to be done to make this move. I started mine also.

Then, I’ll start working on a plan. If it’s feasible and the committee approves, we’ll implement it.

I’m fortunate that the company I work for potentially may allow me to work fully remote. Would they approve this kind of move? Change of accounts? I don’t know.

Island Life

I think the two of us have always had this desire in us. Being able to get away from everything and everyone seems to be one of our common desires. We don’t have a large group of friends. Never had. Too much drama. The ones we have, we keep.

Walking away from being able to go to Walmart or Lidl in 10-15 minutes for everything we need would be tough. Though, not impossible. It’s a shift in lifestyle, for sure. Impossible, no. If not Ireland? Where?

We’ve thought about the Eastern Shore of Virginia, the Islands off Nova Scotia, the mountains. There are lots of choices. Or, we could just stay put.

As we put this together, I’ll keep you updated. It could be an exercise in futility or a plan to change lives. It will be interesting either way.

Thanks again,

Bill, The Boring Old Guy