100 Day Milestone!

And the lose is good

100 Days!!

Well, a few more than 100. I’ve had a few other things I wanted to get out first. My head is so full of stuff I want to get out and I want to be sure I’m not THAT boring.

I am going to break this into a few posts. I have a lot to say on this subject.

Oh, sorry. What did I mean, “100 days?”

Ever since Morgan was born, Kelly and I have fought to lose weight. Sometimes successfully, sometimes not so much. We’ve done Keto, Whole30, Betr, some veggie thing and a few others. Nothing was long term.

Here’s why:

Lifestyle and Sustainability

We are foodies. We like to eat and will eat most anything. For us food is more than just energy, it’s pleasure. We love the process of creating meals. Discovery of flavors and taste. We are also from the leave an empty plate generation.

If not done properly and monitored, it can get out of control.

Everything we have tried has not been long term. Too restrictive, to complicated of just bad food. If you don’t like what you’re doing, nothing is going to help you.

Requirements

First, we needed to look at our lifestyle. We eat, drink and over indulge on occasion. We’re not alcoholic’s and we treat our alcohol like food, we explore and experience new whenever we can.

What can fit our lifestyle and still allow us some space. We will compromise on some things.

Anything we do, we research the snot out of it. Diets are no different. Here we’re our key wants:

  • Lots of recipes

  • Food choice freedom

  • Sustainability, long term success

  • Easy to do

  • Budget friendly

The last 100 days

The solution we landed on was Weight Watchers. To be honest with you, this was actually one we had been avoiding. We never really heard much good. Restrictions, counting points, cost, meetings, not what we wanted.

Then one Sunday, Kelly and we sat down and decided we were going to do SOMETHING! She began looking at the Weight Watchers app and looking at reviews and recipes.

We were surprised! This is NOT your mother’s Weight Watchers!

Wow, it hit the points and we decided to give it a shot. And now we are 100+ days in.

I’m going to stop here. Stay tuned, I’ll send you part 2, tomorrow.

Bill, The Boring Old Guy